Joe Mihevc – City of Toronto – Letter of Support

letter-of-support-for-london-moratorium-on-drive-thrus-electronic-version

June 17th, 2008

Dear Members of London’s Planning Committee,

I am writing you today to urge you to support the “Clean Air for Children” campaign to institute a moratorium on new drive-thrus in London, Ontario. In September 2002, Toronto City Council took a courageous stand for the well-being of its residents when it backed my call for a ban on drive-thrus within 30 metres or 100 feet of residential zoned areas. The city-wide ban was inspired by a fight in the midtown Toronto neighbourhood that I represent to stop an individual McDonald’s franchisee’s plans to build a drive-thru at its existing restaurant at St. Clair & Christie.

At the time, such a city-wide ban, using planning restrictions, was a model for other jurisdictions that wished to protect the integrity and pedestrian nature of residentially-zoned areas and concerned with the harm to our air quality caused by idling cars in cue at these drive-thru facilities.

London has a chance to be an environmental leader, by surpassing Toronto’s legislation and adopting a full moratorium on new applications. The fast-food industry lobby is stubborn and well-funded, but the courts have proven in Toronto’s case that municipalities can legislate against these kinds of harmful facilities. I encourage you to make the decision that will best protect the health and well-being of your residents and adopt a full moratorium on drive-thrus in London.

Sincerely,

Joe Mihevc

Toronto City Councillor

Chair, Community Development & Recreation Committee

Vice-Chair, Toronto Transit Commission

Councillors & Contacts Who Are Leading The Fight on Drive-Thrus

There are obviously others in support of a drive-thru moratorium across the country.  Some we are not certain of their position – others we may be unaware.  If you are in support of a drive-thru moratorium or ban but do not see your name listed – please contact us at councilofcanadians.london@sympatico.ca Thank you.

NOVA SCOTIA:

KINGS COUNTY:

Councillor Eric Bolland

ebolland@town.kentville.ns.ca

Wayne Atwater:

councillor.atwater@county.kings.ns.ca

ONTARIO:

SARNIA:

Councillor Anne Marie Gillis

gillisam@ebtech.net

HAMILTON:

Mayor Fred Eisenberger

mayorfred@hamilton.ca

TORONTO:

Councillor Joe Mihevc

councillor_mihevc@toronto.ca

Sean Hill – Executive Assistant to Councillor Joe Mihevc

shill2@toronto.ca

LONDON:

Nancy Branscombe

nancy@nanbran.com

Judy Bryant

jbryant@london.ca

David Winninger

dwinning@london.ca

Gina Barber

gbarber@london.ca

Joni Baechler

jbaechle@london.ca

Susan Eagle

seagle@london.ca

ALBERTA:

EDMONTON:

Councillor Don Iveson

don.iveson@edmonton.ca

Councillor David Theile

dave.thiele@edmonton.ca

MANITOBA:

WINNIPEG:

Councillor Mike O’Shaughnessy

moshaughnessy@winnipeg.ca

BRITISH COLUMBIA:

VANCOUVER:

Councillor Sam Schechter

sschechter@cnv.org

PHYSICIANS:

John Howard, MD, FRCPC -Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
Children’s Hospital of Western Ontario -Pediatric Division of London Health Sciences Centre
john.howard@lhsc.on.ca

Gideon Forman Executive Director of Cape – Canadian Physicians for the Environment

gideon@cape.ca

LABOUR COUNCILS:

London District Labour Council:

Patti Dalton – President of London and District Labour Council

attidalton@gmail.com

Jim Mahon – London and District Labour Council, Environment Committee

jimahon@ody.ca

GREENPEACE CANADA:

Executive Director – Bruce Cox

bruce.cox@yto.greenpeace.org

A Message to our Elected Officials of the City of London

London – London, The Forest City: We are a caring, responsive community committed to the health and well-being of all Londoners. The actions we take will be socially, environmentally, and fiscally responsible so that out quality of life is enhanced and sustained for future generations. Our people, heritage, diverse economy, strategic location, land and recourses are our strength. – Based on this vision in conjunction with the Stern Report, the city of London must, with urgency, impose a moratorium on all new commercial drive-through operations and establish a timetable to phase out all existing drive-through operations through zoning or other by-laws.

Ultimately – the decision of a moratorium on drive-thrus lies with us. It lies with you. It’s that simple. We can continue to support them – or we can choose to unite and send a clear message that corporate profits and convenience will no longer be tolerated by our society at the expense of our children’s health and our children’s future in a world we have so quickly destroyed.
This is your choice. The choice is clear. This is your legacy.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.